The Parliament is the most important body of the Italian State. It is the assembly of the representatives that the people have chosen with their vote. The parliament consists of two assemblies, known as Chambers: the Chamber of Deputies and the Senate. Each Chamber has a president.
The most important functions of parliament is the legislative one, which is the power to pass laws and its control over the government.
The Parliament is elected directly by the people through elections and remains in office for five years.

The Government consists of the Prime Minister and his ministers. The chairman of the board, also called the head of government or prime minister, coordinates the activities of Ministers and directs the policy of the government. The presidency council is based in Rome at Palazzo Chigi. The government exercises executive power, which is to implement the laws passed by parliament.

The ministers dealing with specific sectors: health, education, foreign affairs and interior, justice, finance and so on. The ministries are based in Rome: for example the Ministry of Foreign Affairs is located at the Palazzo della Farnesina.



The President of the Republic is the head of state and is elected by the Parliament. Remains in office for seven years and represents the national unity. He, as long as it remains in office, resides in the Quirinal Palace.




The Constitutional Court is composed of fifteen members, appointed by the President of the Republic, the Parliament and the Judiciary and has the task of ensuring that state laws do not conflict with the Constitution.



Independent local authorities
The Italian Republic is made up of councils, provinces and regions. These local organizations have some autonomy of decision and administration, but they must always respect the laws of the State, as required by the Constitution. Local administrators are elected by the citizens of that area. In the local bodies, the board has the function of Parliament, while the joint is equivalent to the government. At the head of the council is the Mayor. Provinces and regions are governed by a president. In Italy there are twenty regions, provinces and more than eight hundred thousand councils.

The Council
The Council is the smaller administrative body and thus closer to the daily lives of citizens. The services provided by a Council may vary, depending on the size: in Italy there are Councils with more than one million inhabitants and others with fewer than one hundred residents. The Council provides citizens with social services, manages nurseries and decides on the administration of city streets and on the management and operation of urban public transport. Also Councils issue building permits and collect taxes on houses. The council is also involved in work, tourism, security, environment, culture and sports and citizens may request personal or demographic documents to the Council, such as certificates of residence.

All the above is for information only.


   © Italian Tutorial, 2012. All rights reserved.


Comments are closed.